The Art of Counterpressing

German Top Level Tactics

  • Why Counterpressing

  • Tactical Principles

  • Analysis of Game Situations

  • 25 effective Drills

Author: Steven Turek

Edited by: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Publisher: Institut für Jugendfußball

Pages: 69

Picture: 52

Prologue by Steven Turek

 

Dear Coaching-Colleagues,

 

what have all successful teams of the last years as Bayern Munich, FC Barcelona or Borussia Dortmund in common? They all have one functioning mechanism after they lose the ball, to regain possession as quickly as possible - the Counterpressing!

The term Counterpressing established over the last few years and is an indicator of a modern and especially complete philosophy. Many years, the tactical training dealt with the question how to attack in possession and how to defend against the ball. The way of thinking shifted over the last years increasingly into the field of the transition from own ball possession to opponent ball possession and the other way around.

In this book, I will combine strategies for a possession-game with strategies for a transition-game. For the simple reason that the foundation of a successful counterpressing needs to be already established in possession. Further will be described, which options arise after a successful counterpressing and what the backup plan is, if counterpressing fails.

In the practical part, I present 25 drills and go into specifics of a training emphasizing on counterpressing. I hope to give you some useful suggestions for your training routine.

 

Please enjoy reading this book,

Steven Turek

The Art of Counterpressing

Develop Counterpressing!

Whoever Wants to Train Counterpressing Needs to do This in Competitive-Like Exercises!

If the build-up shall be trained, different exercises with and without opponent can be found. However, if counterpressing shall be trained, solely exercises with opponents can be used. Since it relates to a competitive-like situation (namely a lost ball), it is difficult to find an appropriate exercise without any opponent. In order to still simplify or complicate counterpressing, it requires a creative coach who shapes and trains these exercises. In the following paragraphs, different suggestions are illustrated in order to train counterpressing multifaceted.

 

Head for a Lost Ball!

Since the explicit situation of a turnover shall be trained, all exercises need to provoke the moment of a lost ball. In order to create this situation as a coach, it requires certain elements of control.

 

Time Limitation for Attacks/Ball Possession!

Has a team only a certain limit of time to attack (or possess the ball), it more frequently comes to hectic or overhasty actions so that a loss of the ball is more likely to happen.

 

Preset Touches of the Ball!

Are the players given only a certain number of touches, it also could lead more frequently to lost balls. A greatly limited number of touches (direct play or two touches) leads, especially under increased pressure of space, to misdirected passes. This bad pass is the trigger of counterpressing.

Even an increased number of touches (for example the precept to dribble or to go into an 1 v 1) could lead to turnovers. These lost balls are created due to a lost duel and train counterpressing - for example at the wing after a failed dribbling. In this organization, already one player (namely the one who lost the ball) is situated close to the site of the turnover (difference to a misdirected pass).

 

Adjust Your Mindset to Counterpressing!

Not only the players need to transition quickly after turnovers, also you as a Coach need to do so. As well for you it is important to perceive a lost ball more as a chance instead of looking for a scapegoat. Furthermore, this philosophy requires a high degree of devotedness, willingness and aggressiveness. These attributes need to be lived versatilely by the coach - be it through aggressive and loud coaching or the demonstration of possible playing options - according to the principle “The player shows what the Coach demands and lives by”. If the coach adjusts his mindset to aggressively hunt the ball after turnovers, so do the players sooner or later.

Drills Counterpressing

 

Passing in Groups of four

Organization: 3 teams (different colors) of each 4 players. There are two goals in each colors – one passing goal at a corner or side and one build with cones in the field. The practice starts with the three teams each have one ball. They pass the ball to each other freely. By the time the coach calls out one color, that teams tries to score on their colored goals, while the other two teams try to prevent them from scoring.

Coaching Points: While in possession of the ball, every player has to orientate himself to perfectly react to the next situation. Demand a constant view over the shoulder from every player to perfectly know one’s own surroundings.

Variation: The team that is called out tries to score on the opposing goals (4 goals) – This way, Counterpressing is arranged much more difficult.

4 vs. 2 with Changing Fields

Organization: In a field (10x10m) is being played 4 v 2. If a blue player gains the ball, he transitions from defense to offense. The red player, who lost the ball, transitions to defense. If Red plays four successive passes, they need to change into an adjacent field.

Coaching Points:Blue follows all principles of defending two by two. Moreover, the change of fields is a good possibility to create a pressing situation since a red player receives the ball in a closed position.

Variation: After a turnover, Red is allowed to regain possession. In this case, it only comes to switching tasks ifBlue reaches an adjacent field (by a dribbling or a pass).

.

5 vs 5 vs 5

Organization: In the marked field plays Red against Blue 5 v 5. If Red scores, they keep in possession at their own goal. If Red loses the ball, the players sprint into the depth next to the opposing goal. Green starts into the field and Blue tries to score. With the next turnover, Blue sprints outside the field and Red comes in again while Greentries to score.

Coaching Points: Despite the possibly great distance towards the ball carrier shall pressure be applied. Specifically trained is the way of attacking the ball carrier and creating pressure.

Variation: The organization remains. As only change, players are allowed to leave the field wherever they want after a turnover. This leads when entering the field to the result that it will be easier to create pressure on the ball carrier. As a consequence, pressing of all directions is trained -  from the front, back and side. 

Coach2 Logo

Questions, Help and More

Follow

Privacy Policy             Imprint

  • Grau LinkedIn Icon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Logo transparent.png
Fragen, Hilfe und Kontakt
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Datenschutz             Impressum

Mit Gegenpressing zum dominanten Spiel

Aktuelle Taktik Trends

  • Warum Gegenpressing?

  • Maßnahmen in allen Spielphasen

  • Wie trainiert man Gegenpressing?

  • 25 effektive Spielformen

Autor: Steven Turek

Redaktion: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Herausgeber: Institut für Jugendfußball

Seiten: 69

Abbildungen: 52

Vorwort von Steven Turek

 

Liebe Trainerinnen, Liebe Trainer,

 

was haben viele erfolgreiche Mannschaften der letzten Jahre, wie Bayern München, FC Barcelona oder Borussia Dortmund gemeinsam? Sie haben alle einen funktionierenden Mechanismus nach Ballverlusten, den Ball schnellstmöglich wieder zurückzuerobern – das Gegenpressing!

Gegenpressing hat sich seit Jahren nicht nur als Begriff durchgesetzt, sondern ist heutzutage ein Kennzeichen für eine moderne und vor allem vollständige Fußballtaktik. Viele Jahre hat sich das Taktiktraining damit beschäftigt, mit und gegen den Ball zu spielen. In den letzten Jahren bewegte sich das Taktiktraining zunehmend in den Bereich des Umschaltverhaltens!

In diesem Buch bringe ich Strategien für den Ballbesitz mit Strategien für das Umschaltverhalten zusammen. Denn die Grundlagen für eine erfolgreiches Ballrückgewinnung werden im Ballbesitz gelegt. Darüber hinaus gibt es Optionen für Ihre Mannschaft nach einer erfolgreichen Balleroberung aber auch einen Plan B, wenn Gegenpressing misslingt.

Im Praxisteil präsentiere ich 25 Trainingsformen und gehe auf Besonderheiten imTraining ein.

Ich hoffe, Ihnen damit wertvolle Anregungen für ihre Trainingspraxis geben zu können und dazu beitrage, dass sie mehr Spiele gewinnen können.

Viel Spaß beim Lesen wünscht Steven Turek

Mit Gegenpressing zum dominanten Spiel (Ausschnitt)

GEGENPRESSING TRAINIEREN!

Wer Gegenpressing trainiert, muss es spielerisch tun!

 

Trainiert eine Mannschaft Schwerpunkte wie zum Beispiel den Spielaufbau, lassen sich unterschiedlichste Übungen, kleine und große Spielformen finden. Gegenpressing kann ausschließlich in Spielformen trainiert werden! Da es sich um eine Situation handelt, die sich ausschließlich im Spielkontext wiederfindet (nämlich ein Ballverlust), ist es schwierig passende Übungen (Übungen sind alle Abläufe ohne Gegenspieler) zu finden. Um Gegenpressing zu erleichtern oder zu erschweren, bedarf es der Kreativität des Trainers, der Spielformen gestaltet und coacht. In den folgenden Abschnitten finden Sie passende Anregungen, um Gegenpressing möglichst variantenreich zu trainieren.

 

Den Ballverlust ansteuern!

 

Da gerade der Moment im Fokus steht, in dem es zu einem Ballverlust kommt, wird dieser Ballverlust in allen Trainingsformen provoziert werden. Um als Trainer dies geeignet herstellen zu können, bedarf es einiger Steuerungselemente.

 

Zeitbegrenzung für Angriffe/Ballbesitz!

 

Hat eine Mannschaft einen begrenzten Zeitraum, um einen Angriff durchzuführen, kommt es häufiger zu hektischen oder überhasteten Aktionen, sodass ein Ballverlust wahrscheinlicher wird.

Ballkontakte vorgeben!

 

Gibt der Trainer den Spielern eine bestimmte Anzahl an Ballkontakten vor, führt dies regelmäßig zu einer erhöhten Zahl von Ballverlusten. Eine begrenzte Zahl an Ballkontakten (also direkt oder zwei Kontakte) führt, gerade unter erhöhtem Raumdruck zu Abspielfehlern. Dieser Fehlpass ist der Auslöser für Gegenpressing. 

 

Gegenpressing vorleben!

 

Nicht nur Ihre Spieler müssen bei Ballverlusten schnell umschalten, auch Sie als Trainer müssen das. Auch für den Trainer heißt es, Ballverluste als Chance wahrzunehmen und nicht einen Schuldigen für den Ballverlust auszumachen. Darüber hinaus erfordert diese Spielweise ein hohes Maß an Einsatzbereitschaft, Willen und Aggressivität. Diese Attribute lebt ein erfolgreicher Trainer vor – sei es durch aggressive und laute Coachings oder beispielsweise durch das Zeigen von vorzeigbaren Spielszenen. Es gilt der Leitsatz „Der Spieler zeigt, was der Trainer vorlebt und/oder einfordert“. Stellt der Trainer seine Denkweise darauf ein, dass nach Ballverlusten aggressiv gejagt wird, tun es früher oder später ebenso die Spieler.

Trainingsformen Gegenpressing

 

Passspiel in der 4er Gruppe

Ablauf: Drei Gruppen á vier Spieler passen sich untereinander jeweils einen Ball zu. Sobald der Trainer eine Farbe ruft, spielt diese Gruppe auf ihre Tore (in der Zeichnung: Ein grünes Stangen- und Minitor) und die beide anderen Mannschaft versuchen, den Ball zu erobern, um auf ihre eigenen Farben zu kontern (Minitore werden z.B. mit Leibchen farbig markiert).

 

Coaching: Bevor der Trainer eine Farbe ruft, müssen sich die Spieler orientieren, wo sich alle anderen Bälle befinden. Damit sichern sie ab, dass sie im Moment des Kommandos, Druck auf den Gegenspieler ausüben können.

 

Variation: Eine Mannschaft spielt auf die jeweils gegnerischen Tore (also Rot spielt auf die blauen und grünen Tore und so weiter.)

4er Gruppen Farbenspiel.png

4 gegen 2 Variationen

Ablauf: In einem 10 mal 10 Meter großen Feld wird 4 gegen 2 gespielt. Erobert ein blauer Spieler den Ball, verlässt er die defensive Rolle und wird Offensiv. Der rote Spieler, der den Ball verloren hat, wird Verteidiger. Spielt Rot 4 erfolgreiche Pässe, muss Rot in ein anliegendes Quadrat wechseln.

 

Coaching: Blau beachtet alle Prinzipien des Verteidigens zu zweit. Des Weiteren ist der Felderwechsel eine gute Möglichkeit eine Pressingsituation herzustellen, da ein roter Spieler den Ball in geschlossener Stellung erhält.

 

Variation: Nach einem Ballverlust darf Rot den Ball zurückerobern. In dem Fall kommt es erst zu einem Aufgabenwechsel, wenn Blau es in ein anliegendes Quadrat schafft (durch ein Dribbling oder Pass).

5 gegen 5 gegen 5

Ablauf: Im markierten Feld spielt Rot gegen Blau 5 gegen 5. Erzielt Rot ein Tor, behalten sie den Ballbesitz am eigenen Tor. Verliert Rot den Ball, sprinten die Spieler in die Tiefe neben das gegnerische Tor, Grün startet in das Feld und Blauversucht, ein Tor zu erzielen. Beim nächsten Ballverlust sprintet Blau aus dem Feld, Rot kommt wieder rein und Grünversucht, ein Tor zu erzielen.

 

Coaching: Trotz des gegebenenfalls großen Abstands zum Ballbesitzer, soll Druck auf den Ballführer hergestellt werden. Gezielt trainiert wird das Anlaufen, Abstoppen und Druck herstellen.

4 gegen 2 Felderwechsel.png
5 gegen 5  gegen 5 erste Variation.png