Coach2 Logo
Questions, Help and More
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Privacy Policy             Imprint

Attacking against Low Block Teams

German Top Level Tactics

  • Match Solutions against a Back Four and Back Five

  • Change in Perpective

  • Drills

    • For own Ball Possession

    • For Counterpressing​​

Author: Steven Turek

Edited by: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Publisher: Institut für Jugendfußball

Pages: 98

Picture: 66

Prologue by Steven Turek

 

Dear Coaching-Colleagues,

there are numerous duels in soccer between uneven teams - David versus Goliath. Thereby, it is not uncommon that “David” chooses an extremely defensive tactic with the single aim to prevent any goals against. Coaches used to operate with a back four, but recent trends show that now, coaches even utilize a back chain of five players, which promises an increase in the stability of the defense. However, these kinds of tactics are not only used in duels against an uneven opponent. Teams like Atletico Madrid regularly make use of such tactical alignments. They draw back deeply and defend in a compact formation with an intense manner so that a breakthrough seems impossible. To grasp this alternative of defensive tactics as a great challenge is the obligation of every coach.

Due to this reason, the by now fifth part of the series “German Top Level Tactics”deals with the tactical play against deeply defending opponents. You will find detailed tactical ideas against low block opponents in the known segmentation (principles - solutions - exercises). A concrete differentiation takes place in view of the chosen tactical formation of the opponent. Thus, you can find tactical solutions against a 4:4:2 as well as solutions against a 5:4:1, which strongly differ in their constitution and execution. To change the perspective and analyze how the opponent will probably defend in their tactical alignment of a back chain of four or five players shall further contribute to the understanding.

The already known counterpressing could play a major role in the operation against a low block team - also to score goals. Thereto, you find concrete examples of exercises in the practical part. In this section, you also find various exercises, which aim to improve the creation of goal scoring chances. The book is rounded off by principles of training as well as by numerous variations and coaching cues.

Enjoy reading, Steven Turek

Attacking against low Block Teams

Tactical Principles​

Outplay Entire Lines

 

The first fundamental principle refers to the build-up of lines in the defensive construct. A key element of the attacking play is to outplay entire defensive lines. From this basic concept emerges a variety of possibilities of execution. In the lower illustration, several players offer passing options into the direction of the ball (6 and 8), secure the up moving of the ball and the save outplaying of the defensive line from Blue. 

The downside of the possibility to outplay entire defensive lines is the fact that many players remain in the first or second third of the field. Therefore, often times unfavorable ratios of players are created and a successful attack is complicated. This condition remains even when players move up and possibly improve the ratio - initially, there will be unfavorable situations. Furthermore, one

could assume, when playing against a deeply defending opponent, that players, who drop to the height of their defensive back chain (as for example 6 or8), are not followed. Thus, no free spaces are created, which could possibly be used and exploited.

 

Thus, the following guiding principle holds true: Outplay opposing lines with a minimum of own players!

“If you know yourself but not the enemy for every victory gained you will suffer a defeat. But if you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles.“ - Proverb of the NAVY Seal

Outplaying the opponents strikers​

 

High Ball Distant Center Back​

 

The primary goal for every build-up is the outplaying of the opposing forwards with as little effort as possible (which means with as few own players as possible). This aim could be realized especially by shifting the play. 2is situated on the wing in ball possession. The opponent quickly and effectively shifts towards the ball-side and closes all passing options into the depth (for instance to 7or 9). Both forwards (9and 11) shift as well towards the ball-side. Depending on the pressing strategy or the trigger, the ball-distant forward (11) tilts distinctly to create contact to both CM’s (6and 7). The positioning of both center backs is crucial. If the ball is combined out of the side over 4(the height of 4is another crucial aspect in order to prompt Blueinto movement), 5gains as much height as possible without risking to suffer a loss of the ball

with a pass. 5receives that short pass in height of both opposing forwards, which forces Blueto shift in the highest possible pace towards the ball (“Prompt the Opponent into Movement”).

Pull Out the Opposing Center Back​

The best option to overplay the opposing defensive construct results from the position of the CF. If he releases into the between space of the chains, the following difficulty for the blueteam is created („Pick your Poison “): If 9is passed to and no CB follows him, he can open up to the pitch and dribble towards the chain. However, if 4follows 9man-to-man, he rips a gap into the back four. This gap can be exploited by a third man. Due to the positioning of 9, the demand of defending for the Blueteam increases.

With the pass from 5to 9(and the pulled out 4), 8sprints into the created gap (“Head Towards Open Passing-Lanes”) and can receive a pass as a third man into the depth (3 - attention: No horizontal pass at 2!). All further players in the upper area (10 and 7) start in and around the box to generate further passing options.

Remark: The opportunity to pull out the opposing CBs and to exploit the created space often only emerges in the play against a back four. More on this later in the chapter “Play Against a Back Five”.

Change in Perspective

"Attacking against Low Block Teams" consists a lot of change in perspective. In that a situation is presented from a different point of view mostly by the opponent. This way the strategies and principles are understood easier.  

Advantages of a Back Five

 

Stepping outside the chain

Formations with a back five respectively three center backs are especially meant for the movements of the opposing players between the chain. The difficulty at what moment a center back exits the chain to cover a player is eliminated by the fact that now three center backs are positioned. Thereby, it is possible to exit the chain at any time to cover a player since a back four is guaranteed at all times, even with a bad timing of the exit. Occurring gaps, created by leaving the chain, are distinctly smaller and thus, harder to pass into.

Consequence: Whilst the in-between play and the pulling out of a center back represents an optimal strategy against a back four, this is no effective option against a back five. Especially movements of the center forwards, who draw away from the chain into the between spaces, are effectively intercepted.

Consequently, other options to come into the between spaces of the chain need to be found to find an optimal position when receiving a pass.

Drills to develop playing against low block Teams

10 vs. 9 with Zones fo the OM

Organization: In the marked field is played a 10 vs 9. Thereby, the back four of the defending team is positioned inside the marked stripe. Beyond that, two redplayers are located in the boxes for the offensive midfielder (exclusively). If one of these offensive OM’s is passed to, only the defenders located inside the stripe can interfere. The attackers try to score. If the zone is outplayed, no defender is allowed to interfere anymore. The defenders counterattack on the mini-goals if they gain possession of the ball. In case of a ball exiting the field, the central forward reopens the play with a ball from the depot (this player does not play inside the field, but only serves as an additional passing option).

Coaching: It is due to the organization, that the opposing center

backs are regularly pulled out of their positions. These spaces shall be recognized and headed to.

Variation: The defenders defend up to the goal.

Coaching: Durch die Organisation werden regelmäßig

9 vs. 9 with Safe Areas

Organization: A field is set up from penalty box to penalty box. Additionally, a one meter wide outside-zone is set up. Moreover, in each half offside-lines exist. The team in ball possession is allowed (not the defenders) to use the narrow outside-zones (“Safe-Areas”). However, in the zone solely up to two touches are allowed - at the latest, the third touch must redirect the ball into the field. Passes inside the safe-area are not allowed. 

Coaching: The players shall outplay the lines by the first touch by moving along that line as close as possible (Safe-Area). The thematic priority lays on the first and second touch of the outside players and his continue of the play. 

Variation: Widen the Safe-Areas. The rule of limited touches is reversed. Therefore, an additional defender enters the Safe-Area.

Logo transparent.png
Fragen, Hilfe und Kontakt
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Datenschutz             Impressum

Tief stehende Gegner knacken

Aktuelle Taktik Trends

  • Gezielte Spiellösungen gegen 4er und 5er Kette

  • Perspektivwechsel

  • Trainingsformen

    • für den Ballbesitz​

    • für Gegenpressing​​

Autor: Steven Turek

Redaktion: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Herausgeber: Institut für Jugendfußball

Seiten: 98

Abbildungen: 66

Vorwort von Steven Turek

 

Liebe Trainerinnen, Liebe Trainer,

 

im Fußball zeichnen sich immer wieder ungleiche Duelle ab – David gegen Goliath. Nicht selten wählt der „David“ in dieser Situation eine sehr defensiv ausgerichtete Taktik, mit dem einzigen Ziel, Tore zu verhindern. Trainer bedienen sich dabei nicht nur der 4er-, sondern immer regelmäßiger auch der 5er Kette, die weitere Stabilität in der Defensive versprechen. Aber nicht nur in diesen vermeidlich ungleichen Duellen finden sich solche Strategien. Mannschaften wie

Atletico Madrid greifen regelmäßig auf diese taktische Ausrichtung zurück. Sie ziehen sich weit zurück und verteidigen so kompakt und intensiv, dass ein Durchkommen nahezu unmöglich erscheint. Diese Variante des Defensivspiels als Herausforderung zu begreifen, ist die Aufgabe eines jeden Trainers!

Aus diesem Grund befasst sich dieser inzwischen fünfte Teil der aktuellen Taktik Trends gezielt mit dem Spiel gegen einen tief stehenden Gegner. In der bekannten Aufteilung (Grundsätze – Spiellösungen – Trainingsformen) finden Sie gezielte Ideen im Spiel gegen einen tief stehenden Gegner. Eine konkrete Unterscheidung findet in Hinblick auf die vom Gegner gewählten Grundordnung statt. So finden sich Spiellösungen gegen ein 4:4:2 genauso wie Lösungen gegen ein 5:4:1, die sich in der Umsetzung und Gestaltung deutlich voneinander unterscheiden. Kurzzeitig die Perspektive zu wechseln und zu analysieren, wie ein Gegner mit einer 4er-/5er-Kette wahrscheinlich verteidigt, soll dabei das Verständnis noch weiter erhöhen.

Ebenfalls kann das inzwischen bekannte Gegenpressing eine große Rolle im Spiel gegen einen tief stehenden Gegner einnehmen – auch um Tore zu erzielen. Dazu finden Sie gezielt Trainingsformen im Praxis-Teil. Hier finden Sie ebenfalls zahlreiche Spielformen, die gezielt das Herausspielen von Torchancen verbessern. Das Ganze wird abgerundet mit Grundsätzen für das Training, sowie zahlreichen Variationen und Coachings.

Viel Spaß beim Lesen wünscht Steven Turek

Tief stehende Gegner knacken (Ausschnitt)

Taktische Grundsätze​

Reihen überspielen

Das erste grundsätzliche Prinzip bezieht sich auf den Aufbau von Linien im Defensivverbund. Ein Kernelement des Angriffsspiels ist es, diese Linien zu überspielen. Aus diesem grundsätzlichen Konzept ergeben sich unterschiedliche Ausführungsmöglichkeiten. Im Beispiel unten laufen sich mehrere Spieler Richtung Ball frei (6 und 8), sichern den Ballvortrag und das sichere Überspielen der ersten Abwehrreihe von Blau.

Der Hacken an dieser Möglichkeit, Reihen zu überspielen, sind die verbliebenen Spieler im vorderen Bereich. Häufig ergeben sich insgesamt ungünstige Zahlenverhältnisse im vorderen Bereich, die ein erfolgreiches Angriffsspiel deutlich erschweren. Und auch wenn in der Folge Spieler wieder von hinten nach vorne das Zahlenverhältnis verbessern können, ergeben sich grundsätzlich

zunächst ungünstige Situationen. Darüber hinaus ist bei einem tiefe stehenden Gegner davon auszugehen, dass Spieler, die sich auf Höhe der Abwehrreihe fallen lassen (wie beispielsweise 6oder 8), nicht verfolgt wird. Somit öffnen sich auch keine Räume, die in der Folge genutzt werden können.

 

Somit gilt folgender Leitsatz: Gegnerische Reihen mit möglichst wenigen eigenen Spielern überspielen!

"Kennst du dich selber sehr gut - wirst du manche Kämpfe gewinne und manche Kämpfe verlieren. Kennst du aber dich und deinen Gegner sehr gut - wirst du jeden Kampf für dich entscheiden." - Sprichwort der NAVY Seal

Die Stürmer aus dem Spiel nehmen

Ballferner Innenverteidiger höher

Das Primärziel für jeden Spielaufbau ist, die gegnerischen Stürmer mit möglichst wenig Aufwand (das heißt: möglichst wenigen eigenen Spielern) zu überspielen. Dies kann vor allem in Verlagerungssituationen effektiv erreicht werden. 2 ist am Flügel in Ballbesitz. Der Gegner verschiebt schnell und effektiv zur Ballseite und schließt Pässe in die Tiefe (auf beispielsweise 7oder 9). Die beiden Spitzen (9 und 11) schieben ebenfalls zur Ballseite. Je nach Pressing-Strategie oder Auslöser kippt die ballferne Spitze (11) deutlicher oder weniger deutlich ab, um Kontakt zu den beiden 6ern (6 und 7) herzustellen. Entscheidend ist die Stellung der beiden Innenverteidiger. Wird der Ball aus der Seite über 4 wieder herausgespielt (die Höhe von 4 ist mitentscheidend, um Blau in Bewegung zu bringen), gewinnt 5 so weit wie möglich an Höhe, ohne dabei Gefahr zu laufen, bei einem Pass einen

Ballverlust zu erleiden. 5 erhält den kurzen Pass auf Höhe der gegnerischen Spitzen, was Blau zwingt im höchsten Tempo zum Ball zu verschieben („Gegner in Bewegung bringen“).

Den gegnerischen Innenverteidiger herausziehen​

Die beste Möglichkeit, den gegnerischen Verbund effektiv zu überspielen, ergibt sich aus der Position des 9ers. Löst er sich zwischen die Ketten, entsteht für Blau folgende Problematik („Pick your Poison“): Kann 9 angespielt werden und wird von keinem Innenverteidiger verfolgt, kann er aufdrehen und auf die Kette zudribbeln. Verfolgt 4 9 allerdings mannorientiert, reißt er eine Lücke in die 4er Kette. Diese Lücke kann über den Dritten genutzt werden. Durch diese Stellung von 9 erhöht sich folglich die Anforderung an Blau zu verteidigen.

Mit dem Pass von 5 auf 9 (und dem Herausrücken von 4) sprintet 8 die entstehende Lücke an („Offene Räume anlaufen“) und kann einen Pass über den Dritten (3 – Achtung: Kein Querpass bei 2!) in die Tiefe bekommen. Alle weiteren Spieler im vorderen Bereich (10 und 7) starten in und an den Strafraum um

Abspielmöglichkeiten zu generieren.

Anmerkung: Die Möglichkeit, den gegnerischen Innenverteidiger herauszuziehen und den entstehenden Raum zu nutzen, ergibt sich häufig nur im Spiel gegen eine 4er Abwehrkette. Mehr dazu im Kapitel „Spiel gegen eine 5er Kette“.  

PERSPEKTIVWECHSEL

"Tief-stehende Gegner knacken" besticht durch zahlreiche Perspektivwechsel. Hierbei wird die Situation aus der Sicht der jeweils anderen Mannschaft analysiert und daraus Verhalten für die eigene Mannschaft abgeleitet!

Analyse: Vorteile der 5er Kette

 

Vorteil: Aus der Kette heraustreten

Formationen mit 5er Abwehrkette bzw. drei Innenverteidigern sind vor allem auf die Bewegungen des Gegners zwischen den Ketten ausgelegt. Die Problematik, wann der Innenverteidiger auf welchen Spieler herausrückt, wird dadurch eliminiert, dass aus zwei Innenverteidigern drei gemacht werden. Hierdurch ist ein Herausrücken auf Spieler zwischen den Ketten immer und jeder Zeit möglich, da selbst bei einem schlechten Timing nach wie vor eine 4er Kette im hinteren Bereich bestehen bleibt. Lücken, die durch ein Heraustreten entstehen, sind deutlich kleiner und somit schwer anzuspielen.

 

Folge: Während das Zwischenkettenspiel und das Herausziehen eines Innenverteidigers eine optimale Strategie gegen eine 4er Kette darstellt, ist dies gegen eine 5er Kette keine effektive

Möglichkeit. Vor allem Bewegungen von zentralen Spitzen, die sich von der Abwehrkette weg in die Zwischenräume bewegt, werden effektiv abgefangen. Folglich müssen andere Wege zwischen die Ketten gefunden werden, um trotzdem eine optimale Position für Zuspiele zu haben. 

Spielformen gegen tief stehende Gegner

10 gegen 9 mit 10er Zone

Ablauf: Im markierten Feld wird insgesamt 10 gegen 9 gespielt. Die 4er Kette der verteidigenden Mannschaft befindet sich dabei im markierten Streifen. Darüber hinaus befinden sich zwei rote Spieler in den 10er Boxen (ausschließlich). Wird ein 10er angespielt, dürfen ausschließlich die Verteidiger eingreifen, die sich im markierten Streifen befinden. Die Angreifer versuchen, zum Torerfolg zu kommen. Ist die Zone überspielt, darf kein Verteidiger mehr eingreifen. Erobern die Verteidiger den Ball, kontern sie auf die Minitore. Bei einem Ausball eröffnet der zentrale Angreifer mit einem Ball aus dem Balldepot (dieser Spieler spielt nicht im Feld, sondern dient ausschließlich als Anspielpunkt).

Coaching: Durch die Organisation werden regelmäßig

Innenverteidiger des Gegners aus ihrer Position herausgezogen. Diese Räume sollen erkannt und angelaufen werden.

 

Variation: Die Verteidiger dürfen bis zum Tor verteidigen.

9 gegen 9 mit Safe Areas

Ablauf: Von Strafraum zu Strafraum wird ein Feld markiert. Hinzu kommt eine ein Meter breite Außenzone. Des Weiteren finden sich in jeder Hälfte Abseitslinien. Die Mannschaft in Ballbesitz darf die schmalen Außenzonen („Safe-Areas“) nutzen (Die Verteidiger nicht). Allerdings sind in der Zone ausschließlich zwei Kontakte erlaubt – spätestens der dritte Kontakt muss wieder ins Feld zurückführen. Pässe innerhalb der Safe Area sind nicht erlaubt.

Coaching: Spieler sollen Reihen mit dem ersten Kontakt überspielen, indem sie sich so schmal wie möglich an dieser Linie bewegen (Safe Area). Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem ersten und zweiten Kontakt des Außenspielers und seiner Spielfortsetzung.

Variation: Die Safe Areas verbreitern. Die Kontaktregel wird aufgehoben. Dafür darf ein Verteidiger mit dem Anspiel ebenfalls in die Safe Area.