Coach2 Logo
Questions, Help and More
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Privacy Policy             Imprint

Think, Run & Play Vertically

German Training Concepts

  • Taktische Grundsätze

  • 7 Variationen im Y

  • 16 Spielformen in der Raute, dem Schlauch und der Sanduhr

Autor: Steven Turek

Redaktion: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Herausgeber: Institut für Jugendfußball

Seiten: 41

Abbildungen: 32

Prologue by Steven Turek

 

Dear Coaching-Colleagues,

 

there are many different strategies and philosophies in soccer to reach success. A playing philosophy, which includes almost every top team’s repertory, is an effective and fast vertical play! Thereby, two basic situations exist, where a vertical play into the depth could be of great success. For one, it always offers the occasion if gaps in the opposing defensive compound emerge. Especially teams like FC Bayern Munich and Real Madrid understand these situations and know how to make use of them very quickly. For the other, a vertical play is of high advantage if a counterattack is possible after gaining possession of the ball. Usually, the opponent is unorganized. This results in a short timeframe, in which it is possible to quickly attack into the direction of the opposing goal in order to create goal-scoring chances.

In this practical concept, I want to reveal ideas on how the vertical play can be variably and competitive-like be mediated in the training. Therefore, you will first find basic tactical principles (in own ball possession, but also in the transition-play), as well as basic skills for a successfully implemented vertical play. Following this, you will find concrete coaching tips and the explanation of certain elements to control a practical training routine. Along with this go ideas as a varied size of the field and provocation rules which contribute to the natural provocation of a vertical play. Conclusively, over 20 exercises and training drills are presented.

And don’t forget: The direct path towards the goal is always the fastest!

Enjoy reading and trying out in your own training way wishes

Steven Turek

Vertical Play

Position Staggered When Attacking Vertically - Vertical/Deposit!

In order to offer a player in a closed position the opportunity to safely forward the ball, other players need to consider their staggered position to each other. Players shall position so that they are able to immediately offer when being over played - the “Vertical - Deposit - Principle”.

An advantage of the vertical stagger is the beneficial position in case of a lost ball. The short distances towards the ball allow a successful counterpressing!

Example: In the lower illustration, #5 is in ball possession. #8 is positioned between #3, #4, #8 and #10 and ready to receive a ball. #6 is situated staggered to him and is able to drop behind #8 with the vertical pass to serve as an additional passing option. However, from an open position, he is able to specifically play into the depth (A and B).

Vertical Play Principle

"I've missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I've lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I've been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I've failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." - Michael Jordan

Vertical Play in The Y-Pattern

Organization: A starts an initial dribbling. B releases into the back of the dummy into a half open position and is passed to. B forwards with his second touch to C. C performs an one-two combination with D, which D receives into the gap between both dummies located on the right side.

Position Changes: A changes his position to B. B to C, C to D and D dribbles back to the starting point. The next combination is performed over the other side.

Coaching Points: With the dribbling, the releasing movement of B is triggered. B possibly plays with two touches; all other players possibly pass one touch. The last pass is specifically played into the gap between both dummies.

vertical play drill in the Y
Score-Challenge - Zone Play in The Tube

Organization: 4 lines are drawn between penalty box and base line. The last line equals the offside-line. It is played 8 v 8 and the coach introduces new balls. One point is scored for each line the attacking team crosses. A goal counts three additional points. The play is over after the ball is lost. Both teams attack 10 times. Which team scores the most?

Coaching Points: All elements of the vertical play.

Variation: It is played with transitional situations. The coach serves as aim for the team gaining ball possession. Each line overplayed also scores one point. The pass to the coach counts threefold.

Drill vrtical play
Zone Play in Competition

 

Organization: It is played in two parallel vertical set up fields. In the respectively first zone is an offensive player located, his opponent positions on the first line. All further players are situated in the center zone. Both goalkeeper simultaneously open the play to the respective offensive player. It is played on the regular goals with goalkeeper and the appropriate offside-line. A goal only counts if it is faster scored than by the parallel group.

Coaching Points: The players not only need to specifically play vertical, but also quick and successful.

Variation: Vary number of players - Increase size of fields and groups.

2 Teams Challange

Logo transparent.png
Fragen, Hilfe und Kontakt
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Datenschutz             Impressum

Vertikalspiel effektiv trainieren

Praktische Trainingskonzepte

  • Taktische Grundsätze

  • 7 Variationen im Y

  • 16 Spielformen in der Raute, dem Schlauch und der Sanduhr

Autor: Steven Turek

Redaktion: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Herausgeber: Institut für Jugendfußball

Seiten: 41

Abbildungen: 32

Vorwort von Steven Turek

 

Liebe Trainerinnen, Liebe Trainer,

 

im Fußball gibt es unterschiedliche Strategien und Philosophien, um zum Erfolg zu kommen. Eine Spielstrategie, die nahezu jede Spitzenmannschaft im Repertoire hat, ist ein effektives und schnelles Vertikalspiel! Dabei gibt es zwei Grundsituationen, in denen ein gutes Spiel in die Tiefe erfolgreich sein kann. Zum einen bietet sich es immer dann an, wenn sich Lücken im gegnerischen Verbund ergeben. Vor allem Mannschaften wie Bayern München und Real Madrid erkennen und nutzen diese Situationen blitzschnell. Zum anderen bietet sich ein schnelles Vertikalspiel an, wenn bei Ballgewinn ein Konter möglich ist. Der Gegner ist in der Regel ungeordnet. Die Folge ist ein kurzes Zeitfenster, in dem schnell zum gegnerischen Tor gespielt werden kann, um gute Torchancen zu erspielen.

In diesem praktischen Trainingskonzept möchte ich Ideen aufzeigen, wie Vertikalspiel in der Trainingspraxis variabel und spielnah vermittelt werde kann. Dazu finden Sie zunächst kurz taktische Grundlagen (im Ballbesitz- aber auch Umschaltspiel), sowie Basisfähigkeiten für ein erfolgreiches Vertikalspiel. Im Anschluss finden Sie konkrete Coachings und Steuerungselemente zur Trainingspraxis. Dazu gehören Ideen, wie veränderte Spielfelder und Provokationsregeln dazu beitragen Vertikalspiel auf natürliche Weise zu provozieren. Abschließend finden Sie über 20 konkrete Übungs- und Spielformen.

Und vergessen Sie nicht: Der direkte Weg zum Tor ist immer der schnellste!

 

Viel Spaß beim Lesen und ausprobieren in der Praxis wünscht

Steven Turek

Vertikalspiel effektiv trainieren (Ausschnitt)

In der Tiefe versetzt stehen - Steil/Klatsch 

Um einem geschlossenen Spieler die Möglichkeit zu bieten, den Ball sicher weiterleiten zu können, muss auf eine gute Staffelung geachtet werden. Spieler sollen sich so positionieren, dass sie sich, wenn sie überspielt werden, direkt wieder anbieten können – das „Steil – Klatsch – Prinzip“.

 

Beispiel: In der Abbildung unten hat 5 den Ball und dribbelt an. 8steht vertikal zwischen 3, 4, 8 und 10 und ist anspielbar. 6 steht versetzt zu ihm und kann sich mit dem vertikalen Anspiel hinter 8setzen und somit ein Angebot schaffen. Aus seiner offenen Stellung kann er wiederum gezielt in die Tiefe spielen (A und B).

im_Rücken_anbieten.jpg

"I've missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I've lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I've been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I've failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." - Michael Jordan

Trainingsform zum Vertikalspiel

 

Ablauf: A dribbelt an. B löst sich in den Rücken des Dummies in eine halboffene Stellung und wird angespielt. B spielt mit dem zweiten Kontakt auf C. C spielt einen Doppelpass mit D, den D in die Schnittstelle zwischen den beiden rechten Dummies erhält.

 

Positionswechsel: A wechselt zu B. B zu C, C zu D und D dribbelt zum Start. Der nächste Durchlauf erfolgt über die andere Seite.

 

Coaching: Mit dem Dribbling findet das Lösungsverhalten von B statt. B spielt möglichst mit zwei Kontakten, alle anderen Pässe möglichst direkt spielen. Der letzte Pass wird gezielt, als Schnittstellenball zwischen die beiden Dummies gespielt.

vertikal_mit_schnittstelle_übung_1.jpg
Trainingsform zum Vertikalspiel II

Ablauf: Zwischen Strafraum und Grundlinie werden 4 Linien gezogen. Die letzte Linie ist die Abseitslinie. Gespielt wird 8 gegen 8, und der Trainer bringt den Ball ins Spiel. Für jede Linie, die die angreifende Mannschaft überquert, erhält sie einen Punkt. Ein Tor zählt drei weitere Punkte. Bei einem Ballverlust ist die Spielsituation beendet. Beide Mannschaften erhalten 10 Angriffe. Welche Mannschaft schafft die meisten Punkte?

 

Coaching: Alle Elemente des Vertikalspiels.

 

Variation: Gespielt wird mit Umschaltmoment. Für die Balleroberer ist das Ziel der Trainer. Jede Linie, die sie überspielen, ergibt wiederum einen Punkt. Das Zuspiel auf den Trainer gibt drei Punkte.

Schlauch mit Punktelinien.jpg
Trainingsform zum Vertikalspiel III

Ablauf: Gespielt wird in zwei parallelen vertikalen Spielfeldern. In der jeweils ersten Zone steht ein offensiver Spieler, sein Gegenspieler positioniert sich auf der ersten Linie. Alle weiteren Spieler befinden sich in der jeweils mittleren Zone. Beide Torhüter eröffnen gleichzeitig auf den jeweils offensiven Spieler. Gespielt wird auf die Großtore mit Torhütern, mit der entsprechenden Abseitslinie. Ein Tor zählt nur dann, wenn es schneller erzielt wurde, als das Tor der Parallelgruppe.

 

Coaching: Die Spieler müssen nicht nur gezielt, sondern auch schnell vertikal spielen und erfolgreich sein.

 

Variation: Spielerzahlen verändern – Gruppen und Felder vergrößern.

Vertikal im Doppelschlauch.jpg