Coach2 Logo
Questions, Help and More
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Privacy Policy             Imprint

Attacking with the Long Ball

German Top Level Tactics

  • Tactical Principles

  • Analysis of Game Situations

  • Practices and How to Coach Them

Author: Steven Turek

Edited by: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Publisher: Institut für Jugendfußball

Pages: 56

Picture: 42

Prologue by Steven Turek

Dear Coaching-Colleagues,

with the dominant position of teams living the philosophy of flat-passes as FC Barcelona or FC Bayern Munich, the presented philosophy is to be seen as modern. More and more, even in lower leagues and the youth soccer, this way of playing enforces. Terms like Tiki Taka or Gap Passes are well known today by all kids.

But everywhere, an extreme perception exists, is a contrary point of view not far away. Therefore, in professional soccer are teams, who found their philosophy exclusively on counterattacking or the play with long balls in order to achieve maximum success. Especially the tactics of long balls were seen for a long period of time as “unattractive” or “blind”. However, the philosophy with the aim to gain the second ball is much more than only “hitting the ball long”. The aimed play on the second ball requires, as well as any other strategy, a high degree of tactical knowledge and devoted effort in training.

This eBook contains my thoughts on “attacking with the second ball”. You will quickly notice that it will be profitable to have prepared solutions of this topic. Be it to specifically apply them or else to know them if one faces this kind of play. Likewise, you will notice that the ball is exactly not just kicked away.

Enjoy reading wishes Steven Turek

Attacking with the Long Ball

Fundamentals

 

Secure The Second Ball!

At all times, a long ball is played into a position, the danger exists that the ball is distracted. This could happen through a technical mistake or through the opponent. This distracted ball is the second ball. In the elaboration of a strategy, not only the first ball needs to be prepared, but also the plan B -  the second ball. Normally, the second ball is distracted into the direction of the own goal. Accordingly, the teammates should position 10 to 15 meters behind the aimed player. This creates the possibility to directly enter a duel for the second ball.

Editor’s Remark: Through the operating with the second ball, the perceived security of flat-passes is given up in order to quickly transport the ball into the dangerous zone. Since no direct control over the second ball exists, are topics like the insurance defense (in this book placed in front) and counterpressing after the second ball (game-solution: The ball is lost - counterpressing) of vital importance.

Choose The Right Formation!

 

The basic formation needs to be adjusted to the chosen game-strategy. With a strategy, where a long ball from the one side to the other or out of the central area to one of the wings is played (contrary to the shifting-movement, shift of the play), is a formation recommended with a doubly positioned wing (e.g. 4:4:2, 4:2:3:1, 4:3:3 and so on). The aimed player, commonly the offensive winger, occupies the wing while the wingback secures the second ball in the in-between pocket. In the case of a strategy, where the ball is vertically played into the field, it is an advantage to choose a formation, where the central area and the in-between pockets are massively occupied (e.g. 4:4:2 diamond or the later presented narrow 4:3:3 and so on).

Take Advantage of the Opposing Shifting Movement!

In the age of ball-orientated defending, the defensive compounds quickly and effectively shift towards the ball. This shifting movement of the defensive team is usable in order to play a long ball, contrary to this movement of all players. It is essential to trigger the shifting movement of the opponent first, for example through a good pass into the forerun of one of the center-backs (illustration above #5to #4). A long ball of high quality (aim player #11) results in a possible breakthrough on the wing. 

Editor’s Remark: Also single players are able to trigger the shifting movement. If the ball comes from one of the sides, even a central midfielder is able to trigger the movement through his body-position, then turn again and use the movement.

Playing against a shifting defense
Drill - Attacking with the long Ball

Passing Grid with Long Balls

Organization: Four balls are freely passed in a passing-grid (4x4m). All players can be passed to. After the pass, the passer occupies a new position (does not run after his ball). Nevertheless, all players shall pay attention to occupy all positions. If a ball arrives at one of the corners, a long ball needs to be played to one of the other corners.

Coaching: The usual elements of passing are considered (pace of the ball, accuracy). Players without ball are supposed to perform a prior movement before receiving the ball; never offer from a standing position. After the pass, a high-speed run is performed to another position (Pass & Run). Long balls are played after a short dribbling and are supposed to be played accurately into the foot of the teammate. The receiving also takes place out of movement.

Drill playing with the long ball

Variation: All priorities of passing remain. Now, the long ball is played with a subsequent second ball. After the ball is played, it shall be directly deposited to another teammate, who is closely located. Through this change, players who are not located at one of the corners, need to be open for flat passes as well as to be able to react in case of being overplayed. As variant, the deposition needs to skip over one position, this demands a different technical content.

Logo transparent.png
Fragen, Hilfe und Kontakt
  • Xing Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Datenschutz             Impressum

Angreifen mit dem zweiten Ball

Aktuelle Taktik Trends

  • Taktische Grundsätze

  • Analysen von Spielsituationen

  • Trainingsformen und Coaching

Autor: Steven Turek

Redaktion: Peter Schreiner

Layout: Oliver Schreiner

Herausgeber: Institut für Jugendfußball

Seiten: 56

Abbildungen: 42

Vorwort von Steven Turek

 

Liebe Trainerinnen, Liebe Trainer,

 

mit der dominierenden Stellung von Mannschaften, die ihre Philosophie auf Flachpassfußball ausgelegt haben, wie der FC Barcelona oder der FC Bayern München, gilt dieser Spielstil als modern. Immer mehr setzt sich dieser Spielstil auch in unteren Klassen und im Jugendbereich durch. Begriffe wie Tiki Taka oder Schnittstellenball kennt heute jedes Kind.

Aber überall da, wo es eine extreme Sichtweise gibt, ist eine konträre Sichtweise nicht weit. So gibt es auch im Spitzenfußball Mannschaften, die ihre Fußballtaktik komplett auf das Konterspiel oder das Spiel mit langen Bällen ausgelegt haben, um damit Spielerfolge zu erzielen. Gerade Strategien mit langen Bällen galten lange Zeit als „unschön“ oder „blind“. Dabei geht das gezielte Spiel auf den Zweiten Ball sehr weit über ein einfaches „Ball nach vorne hauen“ hinaus. Das gezielte Spiel auf den zweiten Ball erfordert, genau wie jede andere Strategie, ein hohes Maß an taktischem Verständnis und gezielter Trainingsarbeit.

In diesem Buch stelle ich meine Gedanken zum „Angreifen mit dem zweiten Ball“ dar. Sie werden schnell feststellen, dass es sich lohnt, Lösungen aus diesem Themenbereich parat zu haben. Sei es, um sie gezielt anzuwenden oder aber, um sie zu kennen, wenn man auf sie trifft. Ebenfalls werden Sie feststellen, dass Bälle eben nicht „einfach nur nach vorne gehauen“ werden.

Viel Spaß beim Lesen wünscht Steven Turek

Angreifen mit dem zweiten Ball (Ausschnitt)

Grundsätze

 

Den zweiten Ball absichern!

 

Immer wenn ein Flugball in eine Position gespielt wird, besteht die Gefahr, dass der Ball dort abgelenkt wird. Dies kann durch einen technische Fehler oder den Gegner passieren. Dieser abgelenkte Ball ist der zweite Ball. In der Ausarbeitung einer Strategie muss also nicht nur der ‚erste‘ Flugball herausgearbeitet werden, sondern auch ein Plan B für den zweiten Ball. In der Regel wird der zweite Ball in die Richtung des eigenen Tors abgelenkt. Entsprechend sollten sich Mitspieler rund 10 bis 15 Meter hinter dem Zielspieler positionieren. Dies schafft die Möglichkeit, direkt in den Kampf um den zweiten Ball eingreifen zu können.

Anmerkung: Durch das Agieren mit dem zweiten Ball wird die vermeidliche Sicherheit des Flachpassspiels aufgegeben, um den Ball schnell in die Gefährliche Zone zu bringen. Da keine direkte Kontrolle über den zweiten Ball besteht, sind Themen wie Restverteidigung (in diesem Buch vorangestellt) und Gegenpressing nach dem zweiten Ball (Spiellösung: Der Ball geht verloren - Gegenpressing) von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Die richtige Grundordnung wählen!

 

Je nach gewählter Spielstrategie muss die Grundordnung entsprechend angepasst werden. Strategien, bei denen ein Flugball von einer Seite auf die andere oder aus dem Zentrum auf einen Flügel gespielt wird (Gegen die Verschiebebewegung, Verlagerung), empfiehlt es sich eine Grundordnung zu wählen in der der Flügel doppelt besetzt ist (z.B. 4:4:2, 4:2:3:1, 4:3:3 etc.). Der Zielspieler, meist der offensive Außen-, bzw. Flügelstürmer, besetzt den Flügel während der Außenverteidiger den zweiten Ball im Halbraum absichert. Bei einer Strategie, in der vertikal ins Feld gespielt wird, ist es von Vorteil, eine Grundordnung zu wählen, in der das Zentrum und die Halbräume stark besetzt sind (z.B. 4:4:2 Raute oder das später vorgestellte enge 4:3:3 etc.)

auf Strafraumbreite, haben sie aus dieser Position die Möglichkeit anzudribbeln oder das Spiel in der Dreierkette zu verlagern.

Die Verschiebebewegung des Gegners nutzen!

 

Im Zeitalter des ballorientierten Verteidigens verschieben defensive Mannschaftsverbünde schnell und effektiv Richtung Ball. Diese Verschiebebewegung der defensiven Mannschaft kann genutzt werden, um genau in diesem Moment einen Flugball gegen die Verschiebebewegung zu spielen. Wichtig ist das Auslösen der Verschiebebewegung des Gegners z.B. durch einen guten Pass in den Vorlauf des Innenverteidigers (Abbildung oben 5 auf 4). Ein gut gespielter Flugball (Zielspieler 11) ergibt am Flügel die Möglichkeit des Durchbruchs.

Anmerkung: Auch einzelne Spieler können die Verschiebebewegung auslösen. Kommt der Ball aus einer Seite, kann auch ein zentraler Mittelfeldspieler mit seiner Körperstellung die Verschiebebewegung des Gegners auslösen, sich wieder drehen und diese Bewegung nutzen.

Grundsatz gg die verschiebebewegung.png
Trainingsform - Spiel auf den zweiten Ball

Passgitter mit Flugbällen

Ablauf: In einem 40 x 40m großem Passgitter werden vier Bälle frei gepasst. Alle Spieler können angespielt werden. Nach dem Abspiel übernimmt der Passgeber eine neue Position (läuft seinem Ball aber nicht hinterher). Trotzdem sollen alle Spieler darauf achten, dass alle Positionen besetzt sind. Kommt ein Ball in eine der vier Ecken muss ein Flugball in eine andere Ecke gespielt werden.

 

Coaching: Im Passspiel werden die üblichen Elemente beachtet (Passschärfe, Passgenauigkeit). Spieler ohne Ball sollen stets aus einer Auftaktaktion kommen und den Ball niemals im Stand erhalten. Nach dem Abspiel folgt ein Tempolauf zu einer Position (Spiel & Geh). Flugbälle werden aus dem kurzen Dribbling heraus gespielt und sollen gezielt auf den Mitspieler gespielt werden. Mitnahme erfolgt ebenfalls in die Bewegung.

20er Gitter mit Flugball.png

Variation: Alle Schwerpunkte des Passspiels bleiben bestehen. Der Flugball wird jetzt mit anschließendem zweiten Ball gespielt. Nach dem Flugball soll der Ball direkt auf einen Mitspieler an einer nahen Position prallen gelassen werden. Durch diese Änderungen müssen Spieler, die nicht in den Eckpositionen sind, für flache Pässe anspielbar sein, aber auch reagieren, wenn sie überspielt werden. Als Variation muss der Klatschball eine Position überspringen, das fordert andere technische Inhalte.